News / IBC Members' news /
Centerra Gold announces election of directors

May 6, 2019

Centerra Gold Inc. announces that the 11 nominees listed in the management information circular for its 2019 annual meeting of shareholders held on May 1, 2019, were elected as directors of Centerra.

Three of 11 directors represent Kyrgyzstan.

Duishon Kasenov and Maksat Kobonbaev were elected as new members of the BD. Askar Oskombaev remained in his position.

Earlier, Kyrgyzstan was represented on the board of directors by Askar Oskombaev, Bektur Sagynov and Eduard Kubatov.

Dushen Kasenov has been a board member of the Kumtor Gold Company CJSC since 2015. He also worked at the Chaarat Operating Company, Andash Mining and Kazakhmys.

Maksat Kobonbaev is well known to the IBC members because he was an active member of the IBC Mineral Resources Committee. In 2011, he was the Deputy Board Chairman of the of Talas Koper Gold, and from 2012 to 2018 he worked as an advisor, and later as Deputy General Director of Manas Resources (Z-Explorer).

The rest of directors are Richard W. Connor, Stephen A. Lang, Michael Parrett, Jacques Perron, Scott G. Perry, Sheryl K. Pressler, Bruce V. Walter, and Susan Yurkovich.

About Centerra

Centerra Gold Inc. is a Canadian-based gold mining company primarily focused on operating, developing, exploring and acquiring gold properties in North America, Asia and other markets worldwide and is the largest Western-based gold producer in Central Asia. Centerra operates two flagship assets, the Kumtor Mine in the Kyrgyz Republic and the Mount Milligan Mine in British Columbia, Canada and is building its next gold mine, the 100% owned Öksüt Gold Mine in Turkey.

Centerra's shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) under the symbol CG. The Company is based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.